LINKIFIER! Download from all major filehosters with one premium account!

VA - Zen And The Art Of Disco [Mixed By DJs In The Sky] (2010) Lossless

VA - Zen And The Art Of Disco [Mixed By DJs In The Sky] (2010) Lossless
Artist: Various Artists
Title: Zen And The Art Of Disco [Mixed By DJs In The Sky]
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Tirk [TIRK 053]
Genre: Electronic, Disco, Nu-Disco
Quality: FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Total Time: 1:10:30
Total Size: 472 mb


Sav Remzi's London label, Tirk, has busied itself for the past half decade exploring the outer limits of the contemporary-disco world. And with a compelling discography that boasts releases from the dub maestros of the Idjut Boys, edit king Greg Wilson, Richard Norris's Time & Space Machine project and Balearic beatsmith Sorcerer, it's done far more than chronicle the sound. Instead, Tirk and a handful of like-minded labels-Permanent Vacation, Prins Thomas's Full Pupp and Mike Simonelli's Italians Do It Better among them-have helped create a distinct aural language, one that pays homage to the glory days of the late '70s and early '80s, while refurbishing the genre for a generation raised on house and techno. (That they've done so with a healthy dash of careening humor certainly hasn't hurt.) Longtime fans of Tirk will already be snatching up the imprint's new compilation, mixed by the U.K.'s DJs in the Sky-but for those new to the label or the sound, Zen and the Art of Disco serves as a potent primer.

The mix kicks off in stately synth-disco mode with Architeq's remix of"Chinatown," by the early-'90s Italodisco group Cruisin' Gang. It's an apt introduction to the set, with its minor-key chords and bubbling acid-house bleeps setting the stage for the disco variations to come. And though synth-disco is the main motif here, there is plenty of deviation in the set. The Permanent Vacation mix of Woolfy vs. Projections' "Neeve" is a lush amble through a swampy dance-floor jungle, its percolating percussion drenched in damp reverb; Altz's "Olympia Rocks" layers twangy guitar over a funky platform-shoe beat to fine effect; and the melody of Bottin's "No Static" has the wistful-optimism thing down cold. Actually, forget that whole contemporary-disco tag-this is simply beautiful music, presented with love.

01 Cruisin' Gang - Chinatown (Architeq Acid Mix) 5:02
02 Marbeya Sound - Non Reciprocal 4:46
03 Sorcerer - Raydio 2:28
04 Architeq Ft Ilija Rudman - Mind Games 4:06
05 Space - Carry On, Turn Me On (The Time And Space Machine Remix) 7:28
06 Woolfy Vs Projections - Neeve (Permanent Vacation Tropical Heat Mix) 3:42
07 Altz - Orympia Rocks 3:52
08 The Time And Space Machine - Trip Sideways 3:13
09 Son Of Sound - Life Under Bridges 5:52
10 Soirée - It's Disco 3:55
11 D-Pulse - More (Foto Remix) 3:14
12 Acos Coolkas - Free Flight (Ichisan Remix) 5:31
13 Bottin - No Static 5:02
14 Space - Flying Nightmare (Acos Coolkas Remix) 5:43
15 The Love Supreme - Sugar (Social Disco Club Remix) 6:31 :: ::

:: ::





Related News

Comments (0)


Support downTURK
You can support downTURK by buying a Linkifier account. %70 of your payment goes to downTURK.

linkifier allows you to download as a premium user at fast speeds from all major filehosters!
Latest Mini Game Releases
Recommended Filehosts